Bad Altitude

La Murta, Agost, Wednesday 6th February.

Malcolm Thompson writes….

In the mountainous hinterland between Elche and Elda lies the small town of Agost. This is not the prettiest town in our corner of Spain although it does have a certain charm on a sunny day. Here lies the confluence of some damn fine walking routes. On Wednesday 6th of February I took myself off to tackle La Murta. Pulling down the woolly hat and zipping up the anorak I set off on the track. Across the parc and down the steps.

DSC00315

I remember thinking ‘this track is one of the best way-marked I had ever seen’. How wrong could I be, never mind. I’d studied the map board and knew the track turned right just after the very remote and ruined Casa Vittoriano.

Onwards and upwards, mainly upwards through the hills I arrived near the signpost near Casa Vittoriano. The track did indeed turn right but the actual signpost had been blown away. The path got narrow and steep…and windy…but after about 1.5Km I arrived at the foot of La Murta.

This is a good walk with lots of interesting features. The views are excellent.

Altitude gain: 504 M

Distance: 4 Km more or less.

Views: spectacular mountain terrain and sea.

Difficulty: easy/medium.

Rating: good day out, moderate uphill sharp in places, easy parking, overall 7/10.

The altitude appeared a lot higher than it actually was.

A good place to start is at the information board at GPS co-ord N38.439733 W0.635641; Polígono Parque Consuelo Vicedo, 03698 Agost

AGOST

